What a fun weekend it was! Filled with a tremendous amount of walking, site seeing, ‘ooo’s and ahh’s’, and history, New York City completely surpassed my expectations! As a Chicagoan, I had heard all about the wonders of the Big Apple, but experiencing it firsthand was a different story.

I spent hours exploring the city, taking in all of the incredible sights and sounds. From the towering skyscrapers to the historic monuments, there was so much to see and do. But my absolute favorite part of the trip was the food!

New York City is known for its incredible cuisine, and let me tell you, it did not disappoint. From the classic New York-style pizza to the mouthwatering bagels, I was in foodie heaven.

As I walked through the streets of the city, I snapped photos of all the incredible food I was eating. Looking back on those photos now, I can practically taste the amazing flavors all over again. It was truly a weekend to remember.

Overall, my trip to New York City was a lovely breath of fresh air coming from Chicago. I can’t wait to go back and experience even more of the city’s incredible culture, history, and of course, food!


Activities

Food & Drinks

Transportation

During this trip, I mainly traveled by subway, ferry, and Uber/Lyft.

Stay

I stayed in Brooklyn, specifically in the Red Hook neighborhood.



History

During my trip to New York City, I made it a point to visit the famous McSorely’s Ale House. As I walked into the dimly lit bar, I couldn’t help but feel the weight of the history that surrounded me. It was rumored that Abraham Lincoln and John Lennon had both been patrons of the bar back in the day. I took a seat at the bar and ordered a pint of ale, taking in the old-fashioned decor and the smell of the aging wood and beer. As I sipped my drink, I couldn’t help but think about the fact that women weren’t allowed in McSorely’s until 1970.

It was hard to imagine a time when women were barred from entering such a historic establishment, but I knew it was a reality. I thought about the women who fought for their right to enter this very bar and all the other places like it. It was thanks to women like Faith Seidenberg and Karen DeCrow, who took their case to the Supreme Court in order to gain access to McSorely’s, that women today were able to enjoy the same rights as men.

McSorely’s Ale House would forever be a symbol of both the history of New York City and the progress of equality.

NYC, I will be back!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started